Surfing In Texas Beach CleanupHere is the official press release for the General Land Office’s Adopt-A-Beach Cleanup at the end of the month. We will be in Port A, and hope to see you all out helping protect our Texas surf! After we will all go Surfing in Texas together!

AUSTIN —
The 25 th annual Texas General Land Office Adopt-A-Beach Spring Cleanup will take place Saturday, April 30th at 30 sites along the Texas coast.

“Bring the family and let’s go clean the beach,” said Jerry Patterson, Commissioner of the Texas General Land Office. “The Adopt-A-Beach Spring Cleanup is a great time for a great cause, and has been since 1986.”

The Adopt-A-Beach Program is one of the most successful all-volunteer efforts in the nation. In the past 25 years, 406,000 Adopt-A-Beach volunteers have picked up more than 7,900 tons of trash from the Texas Gulf Coast. And thanks to a generous $50,000 donation by Shell Oil Company and Motiva Enterprises LLC, Adopt-A-Beach
will celebrate its 25 th anniversary by reaching out to even more beach lovers.

Volunteers may register on-line for the Spring Cleanup at www.TexasAdoptABeach.org
or at one of the 29 check-in sites beginning at 8:30 a.m. Saturday, April 30 th . Each volunteer will be given data cards, gloves, pencils and trash bags. All volunteers are advised to wear closed-toe shoes, bring sunscreen and plenty of drinking water.

The Texas General Land Office Adopt-A-Beach Cleanups are held rain or shine!
Texans who are not able to attend the cleanup can help keep their beaches clean by making a tax-deductible donation online at www.TexasAdoptABeach.org . There are several different Adopt-A-Beach sponsorship levels ranging from $25 to $25,000, allowing both individuals and corporations to contribute to this major cleanup effort. Statewide coastal cleanups are held every spring and fall.

To learn how you can participate, or for additional information on the Adopt-A-Beach Program, please visit www.TexasAdoptABeach.org or contact the GLO at 1-877-TX COAST. Those interested may also become a fan of the program at www.facebook.com/texasadoptabeach where event details and results will also be posted.

Who: Thousands of Texans who care about the coast

What: 25 th GLO Adopt-A-Beach Spring Cleanup

When: Saturday, April 30 Registration begins at 8:30 a.m. Clean up will be from 9 a.m. to noon

Where: 30 sites along the Texas coast

1. Sea Rim State Park
Check-in: Park entrance, 10 miles west of Sabine Pass on Highway 87 South Contact: Tracy Ferguson 409-971-2559 tracy.ferguson@texasadoptabeach.org

2. McFaddin Beach-Jefferson County
Check-in: McFaddin Beach entrance 1.9 miles west of Sea Rim State Park on Highway 87
Contact: Mark Guzman 409-896-5555 ext. 135 mark.guzman@texasadoptabeach.org

3. Chambers County
Check-in: 1 mile east of the intersection of Highways 124 and 87 at the beach Contact: Lana Yawn 409-267-2644 or 409-296-8250 lana.yawn@texasadoptabeach.org
Patti Kahla 409-267-1370 or 409-267-2650
Angela Hale 409-267-2647

4. Horsepen Bayou-Harris County
-2-
Check-in: Clear Lake High School, 2929 Bay Area Blvd. Contact: Andrew Schaafs 832-818-1381 andrew.schaafs@texasadoptabeach.org

5. Bolivar Peninsula – Galveston
Check-in: Crenshaw Elementary, 416 Highway 87, about 7 miles from the ferry landing Contact: Denise Parsons 409-795-1046 denise.parsons@texasadoptabeach.org
Janis Bridgers janis.bridgers@texasadoptabeach.org Mary Munro mary.munro@texasadoptabeach.org

6. Seabrook-Harris County
Check-in: Hwy. 146 north side of Clear Creek under bridge on Seabrook city side Contact: Rex Ward 281-910-8774 rex.ward@texasadoptabeach.org

7. The John M. O’Quinn I-45 Estuarial Corridor & Virginia Point Peninsula Preserve
Galveston County Check-in: Exit 6 off I-45 at Reitan Point Contact: Evangeline Whorton 979-234-2096 or 409-744-7431 409-789-4996 (cell) evangeline.whorton@texasadoptabeach.org

8. Galveston Island-Galveston County
Check-in: Menard Park, 27 th Street & Seawall Boulevard Contact: Gary Schero 409-762-3363
-3-
gary.schero@texasadoptabeach.org

9. Surfside-Brazoria County
Check-in: Main beach entrance at Highway 332 Contact: James Glover, Brazoria County Parks Department 979-864-1541 ext. 3 james.glover@texasadoptabeach.org

10. Quintana, Bryan Beach-Brazoria County
Check-in: Quintana Beach County Park, 5 th Street Contact: Patty Brinkmeyer patty.brinkmeyer@texasadoptabeach.org 979-233-1461

11. Sargent Beach, Bay City-Matagorda County
Check-in: Sargent Beach entrance Contact: Lamar Brown Tony Pustejovsky 979-244-6144 lamar.brown@texasadoptabeach.org

12. Matagorda Beach-Matagorda County
Check-in: Matagorda Jetty Park Contact: Peggy Stanley 979-863-2920 979-216-6016 (cell) peggy.stanley@texasadoptabeach.org

13. Palacios-Matagorda County
Check-in: Pavilion at South Bay Park at South Bay Boulevard & 5 th Street Contact: Cynthia Garrett 979-532-0797
-4-
979-533-0808 (cell)
cynthia.garrett@texasadoptabeach.org

14. Magnolia Beach/Indianola – Calhoun County Check-in: Crabbin’ Bridge
Contact: Rhonda Cummins
361-552-9747
rhonda.cummins@texasadoptabeach.org

15. King Fisher Beach, Port O’Connor-Calhoun County
Check-in: Pavilion at King Fisher Beach Contact: Debbie Gayle 361-552-3200 (daytime) 361-983-4647 (evening) debbie.gayle@texasadoptabeach.org

16. Austwell Pier-Refugio County
Check-in: Austwell Pier Contact: Dwight Mutschler 361-286-3762 austwellredfish@texasadoptabeach.org

17. Rockport-Aransas County
Check-in: Rockport Beach Park beachfront pavilion Contact: Tom Staley 361-729-2213, ext. 226 tom.staley@texasadoptabeach.org

18. Aransas Pass/Redfish Bay-Nueces County
Check-in: Lighthouse Lakes Park, 4 miles east of Aransas Pass on Highway 361 Contact: Richard Gonzales
361-779-7351
richard.gonzales@texasadoptabeach.org
-5-

19. Portland-San Patricio County
Check-in: Sunset Lake Park, 201 Sunset Drive, adjacent to Highway 181 Contact: Tracy Shelton 361-960-8643 tracy.shelton@texasadoptabeach.org

20. St. Jo Island/Port Aransas – Nueces County
Check-in: 8:00 a.m. – Fisherman’s Wharf, 900 Tarpon Street Contact: Deno Fabrie 361-749-0256 deno.fabrie@texasadoptabeach.org
*Limited access – reservations required

21. Port Aransas-Nueces County
Check-in: Avenue G at the beach Contact: Deno Fabrie 361-749-0256 deno.fabrie@texasadoptabeach.org

22. Mustang Island State Park, Corpus Christi-Nueces County
Check-in: 17047 State Highway 361 Contact: Paul Eubank 361-749-5246 paul.eubank@texasadoptabeach.org

23. Corpus Christi Beach-Nueces County
Check-in: Texas State Aquarium 2710 North Shoreline Boulevard Contact: Kara Hahn 361-881-1259 kara.hahn@texasadoptabeach.org
-6-

24. Cole Park (Kid’s Place), Corpus Christi-Nueces County
Check-in: 1526 Ocean Drive Contact: Daiquiri Richard 361-855-2888 daiquiri.richard@texasadoptabeach.org

25. North Padre Island, Corpus Christi-Kleberg County
Check-in: Padre Balli Park Office, 15820 Park Road 22 Contact: Jim Needham-Surfrider Foundation 361-825-2708 james.needham@texasadoptabeach.org
Todd Dwyer 361-853-9877 todd.dwyer@texasadoptabeach.org Ilene Jantz 361-563-4119 ilene.jantz@texasadoptabeach.org

26. Padre Island National Seashore-Kleberg County
Check-in: Malaquite Visitor Center, 20420 Park Road 22 Contact: William “Buzz” Botts 361-949-8068 buzz.botts@texasadoptabeach.org

27. Baffin Bay, Rivera-Kleberg County
Check-in: Kaufer-Hubert Park, FM 628 Contact: Susan Ivy 361-595-8591 susan.ivy@texasadoptabeach.org

28. South Padre Island Cameron County Parks-Cameron County
Check-in: Andy Bowie Park, Access Road #2, Highway 100 Contact: Monica Vela 956-761-5494
-7-
Clemente Valdez 956-761-3704 monica.vela@texasadoptabeach.org

29. South Padre Island City Beaches-Cameron County
Check-in: Town Beach Access #3 at Gulf Boulevard & Palm Street Contact: Contact: Rob Nixon 956-433-1472 rob.nixon@texasadoptabeach.org
Elaine Sanchez 956-761-4596 elaine.sanchez@texasadoptabeach.org

30. Boca Chica-Cameron County
Check-in: End of Highway 4 at the beach Contact: Lucy Martinez Hilliard 956-571-4522 lucym.hilliard@texasadoptabeach.org


: Eco

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Post
«